Living in a post fact world

The term “fake news” references a story or article that is essentially untrue. These viral hoaxes are often shared through social media platforms such as Facebook and Twitter.

Fake news has become almost a buzzword for right-winged conservatives looking to cast blame on the media in recent months. To be fair, “fake news” did affect the 2016 Presidential elections. Realistically, however, it probably helped put our current president in office. Certain government officials in this country have started using the term whenever they disagree with a story. I believe this is why it’s still a problem. Calling CNN fake news does not necessarily hurt CNN’s reputation but rather just blurs the idea of what actual fake news really is.

One Facebook fake news writer who takes credit (or blame) for getting Trump elected with one of his hoaxes states his job is very easy because the American population refuses to fact check before sharing. His satirical, The Onion-like articles are always believed to be true, no matter how outlandish.

The truth is, I have seen many fake news articles on my timeline in the past. And every now and then I read them. I typically realize they’re fake stories but I would be lying if I say I hadn’t sent one to a friend in the past. “Tom Hanks is moving to Laredo, Texas” was the title. I was pretty excited and sent it to my parents. After googling for more articles, I realized it was untrue which made sense. Ultimately, ideally, I do not think fake news should be a detriment to society. Personally, I find them funny and entertaining.

Nevertheless, our world is less than ideal. When a thing like fake news has the ability to completely alter the course of a presidential election, companies need to find a way to suppress these stories. I, like most people, get most of my news from Twitter and Facebook. Though I am comfortable knowing what I am reading might not be true depending on the source and should therefore take it with a grain of salt before sharing the information, I understand not everyone does this. Companies should regulate fake news by at least labeling them as satire or giving a warning that the news you are about to read might not be true. Though it’s scary to think that companies will have the power to regulate what is shared to the public, it might be a necessary evil.

Like I’ve stated, I don’t think there is anything wrong from getting most of your news from social media. In fact, I believe that is what has led to a smarter, more politically active millennials. However, it is scary to think it has also caused us to live in a “post fact world”. When blatant fake news stories are shared by our own president, does the truth stand a chance? We are definitely living in a time when people simply do not care about facts. The next few years will determine a lot about where society is heading. As of now, it doesn’t look great.

Leave a comment